The Art of Curating: Arcarial

Art of curating banner

The Art of Curating is a continuation of the Curator Knows Best blog series on the Sporcle Blog. The series features opinions, top-notch quizzes and quizmakers, bits of trivia, and even a joke at the end from Sporcle’s great curators.

ArcarialThis week, we feature Arcarial, curator of Anime.

How did you first get involved with Sporcle?
I initially came across Sporcle during my final year of school, and played a decent amount of geography and science quizzes every now and then. About two years later, during my second year at university, I started playing anime music quizzes with some friends. At that point I was already hooked, but I became even more so after I made my first few Sporcle quizzes.

Why did you decide to be a curator for your subcategory?
For a long time, I’ve really enjoyed playing, creating and commenting on anime quizzes. In May, FilipinoBreloom reminded me that the curator spot was available, and encouraged me to apply for it. I decided to do just that, because I thought it’d be a great way to make more contributions to my favourite (albeit niche) subcategory.

What’s your favourite trivia fact having to do with you subcategory?
Akira, a cyberpunk manga (which was later adapted into an anime movie), correctly predicted that Japan would host the 2020 Olympics…way back in 1982! The story is set in 2019, and there’s a billboard that mentions the upcoming Tokyo Olympics.

What are some of your favourite published quizzes from your subcategory?
NietosPick the Studio Ghibli Movie quiz contains some of the best, and most famous, anime movies.
I also like jr637’s 3-Word Anime Name Matching quiz because of how it covers a range of different anime.

What are some of your favourite contributed quizzes from your subcategory?
I really like fraideii’s Anime Music Crossword, which asks interesting questions in a creative way.
Another favourite quiz of mine is Anime Doubles! (Slideshow) by deal647. It’s fun, challenging and presented nicely.

What are your favourite quizzes from an entirely different category?
Hogwarts Potion Exam by bhenderson79 is a fantastically well-made quiz. I love how the clues rhyme as well!
Additionally, I find that quizzes like Escaho’s Find That Country: Hot or Cold are quite exciting to play.

Which Sporcle group do you frequent most often?
I have to admit that I only check out Groups occasionally. But when I do, I tend to browse through Off Topic and Sporcle Curators.

How can Sporclers in your subcategory best contact you?
Please send me a private message for feedback, advice or a general discussion, and also if you’d like me to consider a quiz for a CP! Alternatively, you can mention me in a quiz comment.

Are there any Sporclers whose quizzes you think merit more attention than they get?
I think there are loads of Sporclers whose quizzes deserve more attention (especially, but not limited to, those who are creative and/or have put a lot of effort into their quizzes).

Haiku or favourite Dad Joke (or both)
I needed a password eight characters long, so I picked Snow White and the Seven Dwarves.

Space is limited
In a haiku, so it’s hard
To finish what you-

Thanks for the interview Arcarial!
Enjoyed the read? Stay up to date on Sporcleverse blog posts by checking the topic on Sporcle Groups or following us on Twitter. Stay tuned!

About JeluPotter25

Curator for Literary Character and The Hunger Games on Sporcle.
This entry was posted in All, Interview, The Art of Curating and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.